THE ASSEMBLY 15 SEPTEMBER 2010

REPORT OF THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE

THE STANDARDS COMMITTEE – APPOINTMENT OF INDEPENDENT MEMBER AND CHAIR

FOR DECISION

Summary

Following interviews on 15 July 2010, Mr Brian Beasley is recommended for appointment to the independent member vacancy on the Standards Committee which will arise when Mrs Fiona Fairweather's term of office ends on 10 October 2010. Mr Beasley meets the criteria for independent members and has signed a declaration accordingly. This includes confirmation of his political impartiality.

The Relevant Authorities (Standards Committee) Regulations 2001 do not state a limit for the length of time an independent member may stand, but guidance from Standards for England is that the term of office should be long enough for an independent member to gain an understanding of the Committee, but not so long that they lose their independence. This Council has previously agreed (and it forms part of the Council Constitution) that independent members are appointed for a period of not more than four years and cannot be re-appointed to the Standards Committee until the expiry of at least two years.

Mrs Fairweather is the Chair of the Committee. Therefore a new Chair is required from 11 October 2010. The Standards Committee will be considering nominations from amongst existing independent members at their meeting on 9 September and their recommendation will be reported verbally at the Assembly.

Recommendation

The Assembly is recommended to:

- approve the appointment of Mr Brian Beasley as an independent member of the Standards Committee with effect from 11 October 2010 for a period of four years; and
- (2) appoint a new Chair of the Committee for the remainder of the municipal year 2010/11.

Contact Officer:	Title:	Contact Details:
Nina Clark	Divisional Director of Legal and Democratic Services	Tel: 020 8227 2114 Fax: 020 8227 2171 E-mail: nina.clark@lbbd.gov.uk

Background Papers Used in the Preparation of the Report:

The Relevant Authorities (Standards Committee) Regulations 2001 and 2008